The Final Passage Dying and Bereavement Essay.

Our writers will deliver plagiarism paper on this assignment. Order with us today!


Details: Our children’s understanding of death and the bereavement process changes over the life span. A. Summarize how children in the various developmental stages of life understand death, and how each might grieve the loss of a loved one. B. Create a short vignette for each age group that expresses the understanding of each age group\’s response to death and bereavement. C. Hypothesize how a professional counselor might counsel each age group through the bereavement process. D. Present in a picture diagram matrix the Death and the bereavement process for children through each of the Developmental stages. APA format is not required, but solid academic writing is expected. Title Page The Final Passage Dying and Bereavement PCN 518 Human Growth and Development Grand Canyon University Professor Nikki Ruffin Barbarie White


Here’s a snippet of the essay.


Children, in their various developmental stages, understand and react differently to death and bereavement. This difference in reaction may be distinguished upon various stages; for instance, infants and toddlers react differently from children between four to six years. Other stages include the ages of seven to eleven years and adolescents (12 – 16 years).


Infants and Toddlers

Infants sense a difference in the event of the loss of a parent, this difference may be exhibited biologically in the event of a mother’s death. Although infants and toddlers sense the absence of their primary caregivers, they may not understand the meaning of death. Older children feel a great attachment to their caregivers and the separation may affect them. These children grieve for the loss through crying, anger, lack of appetite, and ultimately, quiet resignation. Since they can’t understand the explanation of death, explaining it to them may be meaningless, and the only remedy would be frequent holding and touching for reassurance (Jarrati, 2013).


Age Four to Six

            Children at this age need intense physical nurturing and the security of caregivers just like the toddlers and infants. These children are in the process of learning how to express themselves especially through play. Although they are mostly cautious of certain events such as holidays, birthdays, and other significant events, they hardly have a concept of time and space. Bereaved children in this age category possess literal concept of death, they believe that anything that is active is alive. For instance wind-up toy may appear as if alive and the kid may cry if it stops, same for a stuffed animal assuming life-like characteristics. This limited concept of time coupled with the limited concept of death translates that if a close relative to the child dies, they expect them to come to life again. They conceive the death the same as they would for a lost pet or a playmate. If the deceased was the primary caregiver, children will mostly care about who will take care of them after the death (Jarrati, 2013). Death at this age can be explained in literal terms. A child feels long lasting sadness for the loss of their loved ones such as the parents, siblings, or their grandparents. The bereavement may lead to regression to prior mastered behaviors such as crying and bedwetting. At this time, it is imperative to understand that death can only be explained in physical terms and play should be encouraged to help facilitate recovery Helping Children Cope with Death.




find the cost of your paper